iBelieve

Immediately the boy’s father exclaimed, “I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!” Mark 9:24

By Your Amazing Grace, Lord, I Need Another Restart


Daily Post Word Prompt – Restart

The alarm on my phone goes off at 5:00AM.  I avoid the annoying beep of the alarm clock of the past and have it set to play Amazing Grace (My Chains are Gone) by Christian artist, Chris Tomlin.  The alarm begins with some simple notes from a piano before Chris starts singing his rendition of Amazing Grace.  I set it for 5:00AM with good intentions of jumping out of bed, feeding the cats, and getting into my morning devotions and prayer time while sipping my decaf coffeee.  But the truth is, I hit snooze and tell myself that nine more minutes is all I need; I do this about four times.

In essence, I am giving myself a restart with each alarm that sounds and each snooze I choose.

In essence, this scenario can be compared with God’s forgiveness and starting over.

Paul said in Romans 7:18-20   For I know that good itself does not dwell in me, that is, in my sinful nature.  For I have  the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out.   For I do not do the good I want to do, but the evil I do not want  to do–this I keep on doing.  Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it.

Paul’s words sum up our lives and why we need Jesus.

1 John 1:8-9   If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us.  If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.

Jesus died on the cross for each and every one of ours sins; no matter how big or how small. The restart happens as we are absolved from the sins we confess.  In our humanness, there are times we enter right back into the sin we just confessed.  It’s okay to confess again; it is through God’s amazing grace that we are cleansed, absolved, and we are given a “Restart”!

The alarm on my phone goes off at 5:00AM.  Sadly,  I will sin, but thankfully, my life gets a restart after I confess and move forward.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “By Your Amazing Grace, Lord, I Need Another Restart

  1. Good analogy.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Restart | Wired With Words

  3. believethenfly on said:

    I like your analogy. I look forward to reading more your post! Please continue to share the gospel

    Best,
    Tumika

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A thousand million restarts a day. What amazing grace!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.