iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

The Infinite Trinity


via Daily Prompt: Infinite

Our personalities have a lot to do with what sort of work we do to earn money.  I am a helper.  I like to be behind the scenes typing reports, organizing files, preparing for meetings or business guests.  I like to serve.  It makes sense then that I have held the titles of Administrative Assistant, Executive Assistant, Sales Coordinator and Project Manager so far in my career.

Years ago, in an effort to move up and try something new to earn a little more money at the company where I was working, I interviewed for a position reporting to the controller in a sales department.  The position was predominately working on the commission system for the sales representatives so they would be paid fairly for all the accounts they served.  For me, this position was clerical and still in the realm of serving.  During the interview I was asked, “What is your weakness?”  Without skipping a beat, I said, “Math.”  I was honest.  This was my canned answer for every interview at that time; however, I just didn’t think about this question enough before the interview to come up with an alternative answer.

Working in a commission system, there will obviously be math.  Perhaps the interviewer didn’t really care if I had this weakness because I got the job.  I did math in the morning, math in the afternoon, and math in my nightmares about work every night.  It was the hardest year of my life because I was not doing what I was gifted to do.  Don’t judge me, it was probably simple math, but numbers and their infinite concoctions confuse me.

Here is some math that confuses a lot of people.  God the Father, Jesus the Son, and the Holy Spirit are all separate, yet they are one.  They are called the Trinity.  I am not a Theological scholar so I am not even going to attempt an explanation on my own.

Jesus said, “Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father.  How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’?  Don’t you believe that I am in the Father, and that the Father is in me?  The words I say to you I do not speak on my own authority.  Rather, it is the Father, living in me, who is doing this work.  (John 14:9b-10)

Jesus went on to say, “If you love me, keep my commands.  And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another advocate to help you and be with you forever – the Spirit of truth.  The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him.”  (John 14:15-17a)

One, plus one, plus one, does not add up to one.  But in the Christian perspective, this is a very common equation that does add up.  Without knowing the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit separately, it will confuse the heck out of you, like math equations confused me.

After I moved on from working with commissions, I went back to school to complete my Bachelor degree.  I had to take a math class to catch up on math principles before I could take the math class I needed to graduate.  The same can be true for you to grasp the principles of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirt being one.  Take time to learn about the Trinity and the combination will start to make sense to you.

Oh, by the way, I did very well in the math classes.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

