iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

The Perfect Contractor


via Daily Prompt: Interior

I often watch home renovation shows.  They always find houses that are filthy and unkempt with rooms that are too small or not properly inspected or licensed for an addition.  They recognize walls that can be torn down to open up the space and bring in more light.  By the end of the show, the professional room staging team embarks on the space and the houses look inviting and livable once again.

As a child, my heart began as one big open room, but as I grew, I began to build walls based on what the world was teaching me and how I reacted to people and situations in my life.  I was busy building room after room and I became a pro at compartmentalizing my space.  At the base of my heart I tossed in filth and it spread all over.  The times when my heart would break, I tried patching it with false promises but the cracks would never seal.  My heart was so filthy and the rooms were unkempt and too small, it became a place in which I could never invite anyone in to be with me.

I remember the day I said to myself with tears cascading down my face, “I cannot fix my heart alone.  I need help”.  The moment I uttered those words, I had a knock on my heart.  I could only open the door enough to have my tear-filled left eye peer out to see who was there.  It was Jesus.  I let him in and watched as He squeezed effortlessly through the tiny space the open door would allow.  I let him look around and he took his time surveying the space.  He ran his clean hand along the ridges of my filth.  He did not rush, he did not even blush.  It was as if he expected to see such a terrible layout and that He knew exactly how to fix my mess.  He cleared a space at my table and wrote out his quote and handed it to me before he squeezed out effortlessly through the door.

The details of my renovation were as follows:

First Observation:  Your heart is in dire need of repair and rebuild due to the amount of sin it has incurred.  There are too many tiny rooms and compartments contained within and I can knock down walls to let the light in. The cracks along the outer rim can be sealed by my love.  Your heart will not last much longer in the condition it is in.  For if you live according to the flesh, you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the misdeeds of the body, you will live. (Romans 8:13)  Therefore, I propose to get started as soon as possible.

Tools needed:  Have faith in God. (Mark 11:22)  By faith the walls of Jericho fell, after the army had marched around them for seven days. (Hebrews 11:30)  I am the way and the truth and the life. (John:6a)  You do not realize now what I am doing, but later you will understand. (John 13:7)  Unless I wash you, you have not part with me. (John 13:8b)

Total Cost:  “This is what is written:  The Messiah will suffer and rise from the dead on the third day, and repentance for the forgiveness of sins will be preached in his name to all nations, beginning at Jerusalem.”  (Luke 24:46-47)  I did this for you and your bill is paid in full.

My heart has since been renovated.  Walls have been knocked down, light shines everywhere and the Holy Spirit came in and professionally staged the space.  All cracks have disappeared and invitations have gone out.  I have room for you in my heart.  Will you join me?

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

