iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

About That Tree


Genesis 2:9 (NIV)

The Lord God made all kinds of trees grow out of the ground—trees that were pleasing to the eye and good for food. In the middle of the garden were the tree of life and the tree of the knowledge of good and evil.

Sunday, December 4, 2016 we had our first real snowfall.  I was inspired to post to Facebook…

Driving home tonight I was mesmerized by the beauty of the first snow. God placed snowflakes on each branch of the bare trees. The tiniest branches never really seen if they weren’t outlined so beautifully. Makes me realize that is how intimate he is in creating us. He does not miss the finest details of our lives.

Little did I know that ten hours and 15 minutes later, my niece, Jill, would have her car veer off a country road and hit a tree head on.  God gave life to the tree on the side of the country road.  God gave life to Jill for 31 years and 3 months.

During Jesus’ ministry, he told his disciples in John 14:1-3

“Do not let your hearts be troubled.  You believe in God: believe also in me.  My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you?  And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.”

Jesus is no stranger to the tree.  He dragged one, in the shape of a cross, all the way to Calvary to die for our sins.  By doing so, Jesus guarantees that we are given eternal life if we believe in Him.

I am confident that Jesus met Jill at the tree that morning because she had a relationship with Him.  This side of heaven, we mourn the life that could light up a room with her smile and her quick wit.  Jill was alone in the car that hit the tree, but Jesus was the first one at the scene and brought her to eternal safety.

I love and miss you Jilly Willy.   I look forward to seeing you someday and I hope my room, in our Father’s house, is near yours.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

