iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Guidance


This post is in conjunction with Daily Post prompt Together.

I see her as a newborn, from the corner of my eye, from my second row vantage point.  Once a week, her Grandmother would bring her to church and they sat in the front pew, to my right.

I make up the scenario in my mind that the single mother was working her minimum-waged job with non-negotiable Sunday hours and that was why Grandmother brought her to church.  During this child’s baptism, the congregation promised through communal prayer that we would take part in helping to raise this little human and teach her God’s word and how to live it.  This promised responsibility for this newborn was managed by her Grandmother on this day.

I blinked and this infant is now about three years old.  She had on the prettiest pink dress and her hair was freshly braided.  She pushed through the crowd, as any child would, and grabbed a cookie off the little table near the kitchen in the gathering space after service.  Even while assisting in the clean up of the social time after church, Grandmother kept a close eye on the energenic child of God.

I observed the Grandmother inviting the child to help her push a little cart of coffee mugs back into the kitchen.  Grandmother did this as a way to teach the child importance of helping others.

The child wrapped her little cookie-crumbed hands around the silver plated cart handle and pushed it through the doorway.  As she did this, she didn’t realize Grandmother was right behind her with her hand on the handle guiding the mugs to their storage place safely.

I realized something in this observation.  Even though I think I control each activity, interaction, and movement of my life, I am never doing things alone.  God is always right behind me, with His hand on me, guiding me safely on the path He laid out for me.

Psalm 48:14

For this God is our God for ever and ever; he will be our guide even to the end. 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

