iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Following Jesus


My commute to work is short; no highway driving and about 11 stop lights along the way.  Depending on traffic, I get to work in approximately 17 minutes from my home.

I am never alone in the car as I always invite God to be with me in prayer.  Common topics are about the coming day as well as the concerns of those on my personal prayer list.  Usually it is light discussion except for one day last week when I found myself blurting out, “What do you want with me, God?”

A moment of silence ensued.

At one of the stop lights, I noticed something different about the car in front of me.  Neither the make or model of the car, nor its color can I recall.  What I do remember is the picture of Jesus swinging in the back window along with a cross hanging from the rear-view mirror.  The woman driving had her head turned and I could feel a peace about her.

This is truly the way God communicates with me; He equipped me with a heightened sense of awareness.  I laughed and said, “Good one, God!” because God was goofing around with me while still answering my question.

His answer, “Follow Jesus.”

As quickly as the car appeared, it disappeared; however, the message was loud and clear.

God was still goofing around with me in the late morning.  I received a call on my cell phone from an unknown caller and I let it go to voicemail.  The caller was a debt collector looking for Jesus (pronounced h eh – s oo s).

Later that evening, God got serious while I was at the grocery store on the hunt for fresh salmon.  It was well after 8pm and the meat and seafood counter was packing up to close for the evening.  A clerk behind the counter saw the concern on my face and attempted to search the back cooler for the salmon, but was unsuccessful.  As I stood by the frozen salmon I heard someone call my name.  I turned and saw a dear friend I had not seen in many years.  This friend and I reconnected on Facebook and had talked on the phone a couple of times recently.  Knowing she was undergoing cancer treatments, I inquired how she was doing.  Sadly, my friend is allergic to chemotherapy and her body is invaded with cancer cells.  It is just a matter of time before she meets Jesus face-to-face.  In the meantime, she wants to live and watch her grandchild grow.  She is angry with God and she lets Him know through heartfelt prayer.  I told her that it was okay to tell God how we feel since, we are family and He is our Father, He can take what we dish out.  I then shared with her the message I received from God that morning.  We need to follow Jesus.  I don’t know what that message meant to her, but I know God does.

I hugged my friend good-bye knowing that this will most likely be the last hug we share this side of heaven.

During your next time of prayer, blurt out,  “What do you want with me, God?” and let me know how He answers you.  He is creative, but you must heighten your awareness for His answer.

John 8:12 (NRSV)  

Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness but will have the light of life.”

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Following Jesus

  1. I felt Him say, “I want your joy to be full.” I like that picture Lord!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

