iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Foundation


As a right of passage, I learned how to wear make up at the age 12 when I was in the eighth grade. Although I watched my mom apply her make up flawlessly, she let me attend a Mary Kay make up party that was hosted by my oldest sister. (Mary Kay, Inc. is an American privately owned multi-level marketing/direct sales company that sells cosmetics products.) I was shown by the Mary Kay professional consultant how to “put my face on”.

After finding the right shade of liquid foundation, the consultant shared with me tips and tricks on how to properly apply it with a little sponge for even distribution on my face, especially at the jawline where make up tends to stop and be noticeable. After some time, my face was completed with eye shadow that complimented my blue eyes, my cheeks had a natural-looking glow and my lips were defined in the perfect shade of red. When I looked in the mirror, I saw a beautiful young woman staring back at me.

As a right of passage, I was Baptized into the the family of God when I was a baby. My parents and god-parents presented me before God and claimed a space for me on the Christian foundation. I grew up immersed in Christian doctrine from 1st through 12th grades in private school. I have been blessed with Godly parents, siblings, extended family, teachers and friends. Many of these people may not realize how much I observed them to learn how to live a Christian life, but they were integral in the building of my foundation. The yearly Silent Retreats, Bible Studies and Christian classes I now attend are applied to the foundation and it blends nicely in my life. When I look in the mirror, I see a beautiful work in progress.

Whether it is something as trivial as make up, or as important as what you believe in; foundation is the key.

Isaiah 33:6

He will be the sure foundation for your times, a rich store of salvation and wisdom and knowledge; the fear of the Lord is the key to this treasure.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

