iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Lost, But Not Alone


I had a dream that I was walking around the heart of the city where I grew up.

I wandered into a beautiful tall building and found myself in a room similar to a store. In this store was a copy machine and I remembered that I had several pieces of paper that I wanted to copy. As I lifted the cover of the machine, placed my paper on the glass and hit the green print button, I realized that I did not have my money with me to pay for the copies; I left it in a different building. I quickly gathered my things and brought my one copy up to the cashier and explained my situation. She was understanding and allowed me to leave to get my money. So I walked down some long hallways and down a few flights of stairs and through the heavy doors to the outside. I was not sure which direction to turn away from the building I had just exited. I decided to turn left and made my way down the city blocks. I do not remember how or when I had my money, but it was assumed I had it and I began my journey back to the building with the store and the copy machine. Panic set in when I could not remember where this beautiful building was located. I was lost and alone.

The conviction of sin! I dreamt about the conviction of sin! Let me explain.

I was in a familiar location in my dream. The several pieces of paper symbolized the choices we have to make in any given situation. And what I copied was a bad choice; I committed a sin. The conviction came to me that I could not pay for this myself at that time; I had to seek out my payment source, which for a Christian, is Jesus.

The realization of not having my money with me as I hit the green print button is an example of how quickly the Holy Spirit can prompt any of us that what we just did was a wrong choice. I feel unlovable and unworthy when I am convicted of my sin. But I am so thankful that Jesus paid the price for all of my sins. It doesn’t mean for me to go about sinning wherever and whenever I want to, as my relationship with Jesus is stronger than that response. I am ever thankful and indebted to his saving power. I consider Him my best friend and best friends treat each other with respect and honor.

In my human weakness, I am lost, but with Jesus by my side, I am not alone.

1 Corinthians 7:23
You were bought at a price; do not become slaves of men.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Lost, But Not Alone

  1. I also find it interesting that you were unable to return to that place! God dreams have so much more to the story. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

