iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

No Ordinary Touch


Sometimes the “stuff” of life get us down.  I know that my heart holds my deepest pain.  I do not share this place in my heart with others because sometimes words are not adequate enough, even to the most empathetic listener, to fully express what is going on inside me.

One day I went for a late lunch at a local deli.  As I placed my order, the cashier commented that she liked my necklace.  I wear this particular necklace as a staple accessory.  It is a silver cross stamped with the “ixthus” symbol, which some people refer to as the “Jesus fish”.  Five Greek letters form the word “ixthus,” and those letters inside the fish form an acrostic which is a message that early Christians, as well as Christians today, clearly identify.  The first letter represents the word Jesus. The second letter represents the word Christ, the next two, God Son, and the final letter represents the word Savior. This adds up to “Jesus Christ is God’s Son, the Savior.”  My necklace simply has the imprint of the fish.

I was eating my lunch with a heavy heart.  I decided to turn my attention to my cell phone and as I was scrolling through Facebook, I nearly jumped out of my seat because someone touched my arm.  As I jumped, the woman who touched my arm jumped as well, and we started to laugh together in the moment.  As we were laughing she reached her left arm around me to give me a hug as to say, “I come in peace.”  She innocently was getting my attention to ask what kind of salad I had before me.

This was no ordinary touch.  The woman was elderly and her hair was silvery white.  When she reached around with her left hand, her hair pressed against my cheek and felt feathery soft.  The scent of her perfume was pleasant.

I believe that when we cannot formulate words for the pain we hold inside, there is a deep-seated groaning in our heart that only the Angels can hear.  They rush to give comfort while transferring the message of our heart to God.  After the woman left and sat with others, I felt her presence as if pressed into me; to last longer than the moment it happened.  As I finished my salad, I could still feel the feathery soft hair brushing my cheek and the beautiful fragrance lingered.  I felt at peace.

Sometimes the “stuff” of life get us down.  I know that my heart holds my deepest pain.  God made me aware that he was present at the deli by my conversation with the cashier.  I had no idea He was sending me an Angel for comfort.   Pay attention to your surroundings as you too may receive no ordinary touch.

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “No Ordinary Touch

Leave a Reply

