iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Spoiler Alert: Pop Quiz Coming Soon


Matthew 16:13-15

Now when Jesus came into the district of Caesarea Philippi, he asked his disciples,Who do the people say that the Son of Man is?”  And they said, “Some say John the Baptist, but others Elijah, and still others Jeremiah or one of the prophets.”  He said to them, “But who do you say that I am?”

Although the Gospel for today continues through verse 20, I had to stop here because I could hear Jesus asking me this question.  “Kristine, who do you say that I am?” 

This is a tough question, because I do not know where to begin.

Ever thankful for my Christian upbringing, I know the stories of Jesus.  I read in the Bible that He had best friends, He had brothers and sisters, and He was a wood worker.  He healed the sick, He walked on water, He removed the infestation of demons, He made mud from dirt and spittle and allowed the blind to see, and He touched the ears of the deaf and let them hear.  He gifted a bride and groom with the best water-turned-wine ever produced.  And through these stories I continue to hear Jesus asking me, “Kristine, who do you say that I am?” 

After sitting in silence contemplating this question, the chorus of the song You are Holy (Prince of Peace) by Michael W. Smith [listen here] comes to mind and sums up my answer:

You are Lord of Lords

You are King of Kings

You are Mighty God

Lord of Everything

You’re Emmanuel

You’re the Great I AM

You’re the Prince of Peace

Who is the Lamb

You’re the living God

You’re my saving Grace

You will reign forever

You are Ancient of Days

You are Alpha, Omega

Beginning and End

You’re my Savior, Messiah

Redeemer and Friend

YOU’RE MY PRINCE OF PEACE

AND I WILL LIVE MY LIFE FOR YOU!!

We are all on a faith-journey.  Think about how Jesus has touched your life and be prepared when Jesus asks you,  “Who do you say that I am?”

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Spoiler Alert: Pop Quiz Coming Soon

  1. Powerful question… thanks for sharing that. Also a good one to bring to my small group.

    Like

Leave a Reply

