iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Spring Time in August


I have a lot going on in my head. When this happens, I turn quiet and retreat into a self-made cocoon built for one. I spin the shell out of negative thoughts and assumptions and it gets pretty tough to break through. I sit there in a fetal position just wasting time.

I enter this cocoon as a result of trying to lead my own life. When I keep God out of my daily plans, relationships and activities, then all things go haywire for me. I get easily frustrated and the smallest of things can set me off running to my cocoon.

Just as the butterflies work their way out of their cocoon in the Springtime, I feel like August 6 is the first day of Spring for me as I busted out of my self-made cocoon. I had a heart-to-heart discussion with God in the morning. At the foot of the cross is where I laid out all those thoughts that were in my head. When God saw what was going on, He promised me that if I got out of the cocoon He would bless me with what He says in Jeremiah 29:11
For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you
and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

With that verse, I was able to see that He is the leader of my life and new plans were beginning to take shape. He knows what lies ahead at every twist and turn and He assures me, I will be okay. He will never leave me, He will not forsake me.

As a way to feel closer to God, I attended a much needed Lectio Divina prayer session at the invitation of one of the leaders. Sitting still in God’s Word is not easy to do, but with practice, it is a beautiful place of peace.

I have a lot going on in my head. But now I turn to God first before the thoughts get the best of me. I am cocoon-free. I feel new, I feel refreshed, I feel whole.

Happy Spring!!

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Spring Time in August

  1. Recognizing the when the cocoon tries to spin around us again is big part of staying out…because it does try. He is faithful! Bless you !

    Like

  2. Glad you were able to bust out of that cocoon and have that heart-to-heart discussion with God. I’ve been in that same cocoon many times! I was reading a devotional just last night that said we need to invite God to lead us in our plans for our day, our month, and our life! That’s something I easily forget to do! Trying to lead myself is never as good. I LOVE the Jeremiah verse!

    Like

Leave a Reply

