iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Totally Optional


I was driving to my neighborhood pharmacy after work the other day. The store is located on a corner of two high-traffic streets that intersect. As I was nearing the pharmacy, I became aware of the oncoming traffic merging from two lanes into one, due to construction. The line-up of non-moving cars concerned me because I would eventually need to get into that stagnant line of cars. What makes it worse is that it would be a left-hand turn to get there and I wondered who would let me in front of them during rush hour? How long would it take me to get home even though this is the shortest route?

As I conducted my pharmaceutical transaction at the drive-through window, I realized that I can take the optional drive out of the parking lot. I can take the other high-traffic road which would be easier since it is a right-hand turn located just past a stop light. There are no delays or merges going on; the cars are moving at a good pace. Going this route takes a little longer, but I am guaranteed entry without a stagnant line of cars in my way.

I had a dilemma, but found a way out. I felt relieved.

When we are faced with a difficult dilemma in life, especially the kind that opens up an option to sin, we need to remember 1 Corinthians 10:13

No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

