iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Something Better; Something More


Somebody asked me if I had a nail file they could borrow.

I dread carrying a large purse, but this is the reason I do. I knew I had one in there, so I replied, “Yes!” in my helpful excited voice. Then I thought about the contents of my purse. I am going to have to open it up with an audience to watch me rifle though the junk I have been jamming in there lately. But I knew I had a nail file; a nice one made of glass. It is the perfect purse-sized file, crafted with a hand-painted monkey on it. I usually tuck it inside a zippered pouch, but when I opened the pouch, it was not there. So I stuck my hand in a side pocket and found a pair of nail clippers, the kind with a tiny file that folds out. I offered this as a consolation prize, because I knew I had the glass one in that junk-jammed purse of mine. The person took it and started shaving down their hang nail. I kept digging for the file, but was told to call off the search as they were meeting their needs, albeit slower than if I could have produced the prized glass file.

I had a better nail file, but it would take about one minute longer to search. How impatient we are to take the first thing that comes up even when we are told there is something better, or something more.

This holds true for the Christian walk. We may be doing something that is good for us, but God tries to persuade us to hold off, to trust Him because He knows there is something better; something more. It is okay to go with something that works for the interim, but we can get used to always taking the first thing that pops up which may not be in our best interest in the long run. We should take all options to God in prayer. Check with Him first and ask if He has something better for us; something more.

I have taken the first thing that comes up and I have been disappointed or discouraged because it was not my best option. I am learning to slow down and invite God into my decisions. While practicing patience, God delivers more than I anticipated. I enjoy His good gifts.

If you ask me for a nail file, and I hand you a pair of nail clippers with a fold-out file, give me a minute, I have something better; something more for you.

Isaiah 55:8-9New International Version (NIV)
“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord.
“As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Something Better; Something More

  1. and even reading this months later…it still is what I needed to hear at the moment! Thank you Kris and thank you God!

    Like

Leave a Reply

