iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Washed For Good


I attended my 4th annual 4-Day Directed Silent Retreat last weekend.  Before I left, I told people of my plans and they instantly put themselves in my place and said they could never be silent for any length of time based on their outgoing/chatty personality.  I can be outgoing and chatty; however, silence and introversion have their place.  And it is not hard to be silent when everyone else is being silent.  The program is designed for intentional oneness with God.    

There is more to the experience of being silent than just being silent.  The object is to go inside oneself, to find that special place where it is possible to hear God’s still small voice.  When I got to that place of stillness and quiet, I heard what God needed me to know and it was an emotional “AHA!” moment.  I was then led to read and focus on John 13:1-17.  What spoke to me in this Gospel account was that during the meal, Jesus filled a basin of water and wrapped a towel around his waist and washed each of his disciples feet.  When Peter realized his Rabbi and Teacher lowered himself to servant duty, he told Jesus not to wash his feet.  Jesus replied, “Unless I wash you, you have no part with me.”

I let Jesus wash my feet because I do not want to be separated from Him – EVER!  as He came to give us life eternal.  I took the time to trace my feet in my journal and when I could not sleep at 4:00am Saturday morning, I was moved to write out John 13:1-17 inside the tracing.  

Image

John 13:1-17

Although this retreat was meaningful and I enjoyed the silent time with God, so far nothing has come close in comparison to the experience I had at the Silent Retreat in 2013.  It was so personal that I have not been able to share the experience in words.  Because of this, I will never doubt the Father, Son and Holy Spirit.  The Trinity is real.

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

