iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Diamonds in the Sky


I have had it up to here (picture me with my right hand flat, palm down looking like I am going to saw my neck off) with all this snow this winter. I have been looking at it as a burden having to layer clothes, shovel and snow blow, scrape car windows, and maneuver through narrow car-parked streets freckled with potholes. I fret over the ice buildup on the roof that when the sun shines, it melts into my house rather than outside where it belongs.

And then, I went for a walk this evening.

I donned my snow pants, tall Patagonia boots, wool gloves inside my husband’s gloves, my long down-filled jacket with hood, and a ski mask exposing my eyes, nose and mouth. Every time I pulled the ski mask up over my nose, my glasses would steam. The snow that fell wasn’t the big flakes that make up a Christmas scene; they were ice pellets hitting my face.

Each snowy step sounded as if I were rubbing two pieces of Styrofoam together in a rhythmic fashion breaking into the silence of the winter evening. I passed a tree in a neighbor’s yard and I stopped and turned as if it called out to me. Its darkened bark and barren branches were beautifully outlined by the snowy background. I was reminded that it is barren for a season. Soon life will sprout forth and it will be a shelter for birds and squirrels as well as shade from the sun.

I sat in a snow bank and observed winter. I gave it my full attention and I take back what I said at the beginning about “having it up to here”. From where I was seated, I saw in the light that those weren’t ice pellets; they were diamonds falling from the sky. They glistened all around me and I felt like a celebrity and all the sparkles were paparazzi taking pictures of me.

During this time, I was reminded of all the fun I had as a kid playing in the snow with my friends. We built snow forts as temporary housing, sledded down hills that made us scream and played that dangerous game of crack-the-whip at the local ice rink. We used to play “King of the Mountain” on the tallest snow bank we could find. Oh, what great memories.

If you have had it up to here (picture me with my right hand flat, palm down looking like I am going to saw my neck off) with all this snow this winter, go take a walk and embrace the beauty.

Psalm 131:1-3 (NIV) A song of ascents. Of David.
1 My heart is not proud, Lord,
my eyes are not haughty;
I do not concern myself with great matters
or things too wonderful for me.
2 But I have calmed and quieted myself,
I am like a weaned child with its mother;
like a weaned child I am content.
3 Israel, put your hope in the Lord
both now and forevermore.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Diamonds in the Sky

  1. Wellie on said:

    I live in Jamaica where it’s warm all year round. I’ve never had the opportunity to travel to a country during their winter season so I’ve never experienced snow before. I hope to do so soon. Your wonderful description of it makes me want to do so even more. Hopefully, I will find it as enchanting as you describe and not lamenting that I’ve “had it up to here” as you did initially. Lovely post 🙂

    Like

  2. Jacquelyn on said:

    I’ve been there too! I’m not a big fan of the cold, but if you’re properly prepared for it, Michigan’s winters are absolutely breathtaking! A friend told me this recently: “there’s no such thing as bad weather, just the wrong clothing.” So true!

    Like

  3. Well…. I’m here in the south and SO wanting some beautiful snow to look at. Like you, I have fantastic memories of playing in the snow when I was a kid. I still live not far from where I grew up but we no longer get any snow accumulation. It’s always just dustings. Or ice. I’m tired of the dustings and want just one deep beautiful snow this year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

