iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

The Cancellation


Daily Prompt: Standstill For a moment today, time stands still — but you can tweak one thing while it’s stopped. What do you do?

Although we had planned to go to the surgical center late morning, we received a call that there had been a cancellation. We were asked to come earlier, so we obliged. My husband was scheduled for corrective skin surgery after the dermatologist removed skin cancer from his leg the previous day.

The late September weather was perfect; slightly crisp air under a clear blue sky. The sun was warm. Idle conversation ensued on the short car ride. After we parked and began to make our way to the building, I told my husband that everything will be okay. I positioned myself to walk on his left side and I reached to place my right hand into his left. Then we stopped; unable to take a step forward or backward, as if we were stuck. As we struggled to make sense of this, a man walked toward us and as he got closer, he smiled and said, “Peace be with you”.

With our hands clutched together, the man continued toward us and reached out and held our unified hands. He looked tenderly in my husband’s eyes and said to him, “By my power, and by my love for you, Mark, you are healed.”

Just as he said this, we watched hundreds of birds approach and land behind us. We turned our heads with curiosity to see them line up in formation and hear them start to sing angelically; birdsong never heard before. As the wind picked up, we turned to face the man, but he was gone.

My husband pulled up his pant leg and saw that the spots were surely healed.

Letting go of my hand and able to move once again, my husband ran into the building proclaiming that he has been healed. The receptionist smiled, picked up the phone, called to the back of the office and said, “Tell the doctor we have another cancellation.”

Jeremiah 17:14 (NIV)
Heal me, Lord, and I will be healed;
save me and I will be saved,
for you are the one I praise.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “The Cancellation

  1. I look forward to the days when that is the norm!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Can’t Stop This | Edward Hotspur

  3. Pingback: Rocket to space | A mom's blog

  4. Pingback: When Time Stands Still, I’m Trumping Trump | The Arkside of Thought

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Standstill | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Could I really function in split time? | Rob's Surf Report

Leave a Reply

