iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

More Than Qualified


Job interviews exhume a whole set of nervousness that I often wonder where it is stored in our bodies until needed. There are answers to standard questions that we rehearse such as “Tell me about yourself” and “What are your strengths and weaknesses?” Keeping an arsenal of career highlights at the forefront of the mind is important for quick retrieval, but from that point on, it is a guessing game about what will be asked during the interview.

Once, in an interview, I was asked to talk about my biggest weakness. I was honest and responded, “Math”. The interesting point of this example is that the job I was interviewing for was 100% math based and dealing with commissions for sales representatives. Yes, I got the job. Apparently the hiring manager saw something in me that compensated for my lack of being number-friendly.

This is what it is like to walk the Christian walk. We may think we are not qualified for what God is asking us to do. We can be honest with Him and tell Him what our weaknesses are and He will look at us and say, “You are what I have been looking for”. We are hired, so to speak.

No need to exhume that certain set of nervousness. When God sees you are willing to move forward with what He is asking you to do, He will definitely steer you in the direction He wants you to go and all your needs are covered along the way.

Exodus 4:11-12 (NIV)
11 The Lord said to him, “Who gave human beings their mouths? Who makes them deaf or mute? Who gives them sight or makes them blind? Is it not I, the Lord? 12 Now go; I will help you speak and will teach you what to say.”

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “More Than Qualified

  1. Yes, God put you there for a reason. To learn math. 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

