iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Kairos Tuesday


I read a quote from a Facebook friend recently that said something like, “If we were given today all the things we thanked God for yesterday, what would we have”? When I woke up this morning, I stepped onto the floor and I thanked God that I could walk. I headed toward the bathroom and thanked God that I can see, hear, smell, and go to the bathroom unaided. As I made my way into the kitchen I thanked God that we had cat food for the cats, that we had electricity, water, a refrigerator, etc.

In a conversation with a dear friend today, we were talking about the different things we pray for each day. Although it is good for us to start out prayer praising God and thanking Him for everything He gives us, I was encouraged to share with my friend that we need to remember to ask for forgiveness of our sins. If we do not know what our sins are, maybe due to our pride, we can ask God to open the eyes of our heart and be aware of what we do, say, or think that is not pleasing to Him. Once we clear the slate, we are more open to continue to praise and thank God for all the wonderful things He gives us. We can even thank Him for the bad things because they are building blocks for our faith. No pain, no gain, even with God.

In this example of my Kairos moment, the Holy Spirit entered the conversation through me, to remind my dear friend and myself, to seek forgiveness from God as it is a relationship builder.

On my evening walk with my husband, we joined in our neighborhood’s National Night Out activities. National Night Out is a crime prevention evening which brings neighborhoods together in an attempt to get to know each other and band together to fight crime where we live. At a local school ground, police cars and fire trucks parked in the lot so kids and families could explore and ask questions of the service men/women. There were people selling pizza and cupcakes, while neighborhood companies lined up in trade-show fashion exploiting their services and encouraging new members and offering a free pen. Two ponies were taking turns giving rides to all the children standing in line, the bounce-house would be deflated, and a popular family-friendly movie would play on a big screen at dusk in the darkest part of the school yard. In the hustle and bustle of all the activities, I found the sidewalk chalk and drew my favorite picture; a smiley-face. This time; however, I gave my face a little body. As I finished my drawing I looked up to see a little body handing me a new piece of chalk. This little body was a little girl, probably two-years old if I had to guess. She must have thought I was an artist because she wanted more out of me and being put on the spot, I froze and did the only other thing that I can do well; I wrote my name.

The child standing in front of me was a Kairos moment. I quickly thought of the Bible story when the children were running to be near Jesus and the apostles were trying to shoo them away thinking Jesus had had enough of people for the day. But Jesus, in His compassionate and loving way, dismissed the apostles and encouraged the children to come to Him. Had the child standing in front of me not been called off by the parent to go in another direction, I would have been able to come up with a new picture and I think we would have had a lot of fun, just being kids.

Matthew 19:14 (NIV)
Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.”

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Kairos Tuesday

  1. we are all (me included) more creative than we think because HE will help us!

    Like

Leave a Reply

