iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Where Is God In All of This?


I posted on Facebook this morning that I wished there were traffic jams on Sunday mornings because people were all racing to get to church. It was a little snarky and sarcastic of me, but really, think about it…why aren’t people flocking to church on Sunday morning? There are several churches/denominations in my town and I could see this happening if everyone attended church on Sunday. Even though I attend the late morning service, I still rarely encounter much traffic. This morning’s service was a good one. Read on.

Pastor Dave is new to our church and is in the throes of getting to know his parishioners. In his sermon, he taught us the Greek word kairos. Simply put kairos means time; God’s special times, to be exact. As examples to aid understanding of this word, he mentioned baptisms, weddings and Pastor Installations at a new church; all special times that either we remember, or in the case of the baby baptism, the parents and god-parents can reminisce from pictures with the child as they grow.

The challenge was laid out before us. Pastor Dave wants us to take special notice of any and all kairos moments we encounter this week. He asked that we email, call or stop by the church to share with him our kairos time(s). What a creative way for Pastor to get to know us through a God-breathed association. I love a challenge and I love getting to know people, especially the new Pastor of my church. So needless to say, he will hear from me one way or another.

Each night this week, I will share my kairos moments with God that I experienced throughout the day. In return I ask for you to share with me your kairos moments by simply filling in the comment section at the bottom of my blog. Perhaps you do not know what to look for, try this. Before your feet hit the ground running in the morning, pray this little prayer, “God, please reveal yourself to me today”.

I know God is on board with this challenge…are you?

Matthew 7:7-8 (NIV)

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.”

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Where Is God In All of This?

  1. I’m behind on reading but I think I will change the name of my God Moment’s “jar” to a Kairos jar. I just got off the phone with mom who said thanks for praying. She drank and ate and felt good today. He is faithful to answer. Blessings to you Kris – I look forward to reading more!

    Like

  2. God gave me a special moment when at random in a conversation with my wife today, I looked up at her and felt an incredibly deep appreciation for all she means to me.

    Like

  3. Thank you for reminding us to seek God and that our time must be in lined with God’s time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

