iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Alpha Strength


I dropped Mojo off at the vet one morning before work. His job was to give a urine sample some time throughout the day and I would pick him up after work. Sounds simple enough, right? Around 2:30pm, I called to see how he was doing and the technician shared that he had not given them a sample. Six plus hours without having to go potty amazed me, but I was assured this was not uncommon for a cat. I arrived at the vet after work assuming his work was complete and take him home. The technician said he would be spending the night since he still had not gone potty. Now if this were a planned sleepover, I would have packed some catnip and his favorite toy, but I was caught off guard. Sadly, I had to turn on my heel and walk out the door the same way I just entered, alone.

That evening, my other three cats were relaxing in the freedom they felt with Mojo gone. Bean picked out toys from the toy box and started to play, Zoe lounged in tranquility on the back of the couch while Gus played with milk rings on the basement stairs. As I watched each cat be themselves, I realized just how much of an alpha cat Mojo has become. When Bean wants to play with a toy, he sees her movement and pounces on her. Zoe has a definite space bubble around her and when Mojo invades her space, Zoe growls and hisses and fights him off. Mojo does not understand that the milk ring game Gus plays is a one-cat game, and he tries to get the ring too.

Please note: I do not characterize Mojo as an evil force in any way as one must rise as alpha in every system. This is especially true in the cat kingdom in my home.

I simply want you to think about what has become the alpha in your life restricting you from being your true self. God has a plan for you and He wants you to realize that you were made for so much more. If you feel like you do not have the strength to fight the alpha alone, call out to God. He will send you strength in the name of the Holy Spirit. Sometimes it may feel as if you are walking out the door just as you entered…alone. Trust in the promises of John 14:27, “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”

(Mojo neglected to give a sample on his own; the vet intervened so I could take him home. He is a happy and healthy alpha cat. )

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Alpha Strength

  1. Hmm thought-provoking. I will be thinking about Alpha influences, thankyou Kristine! x

    Like

    • I have a big one…fear. I know that God is not about fear, and I know that I am created in his image and the Holy Spirit lives within me. So how does fear even have a chance with me?

      Like

      • I don’t know if you’re a fan of Harry Potter at all (I love it) but want to say that this made me think of Harry’s (Christ figure) fear. Magic shows him that his greatest fear is fear itself, and Professor Lupin deems this to be very wise. There is light and dark in this world, so we will have fear sometimes, but also courage. God tells us to not be afraid, but sometimes we will be. It’s natural. But we pick ourselves up again and take courage and strive for light. This is faith, you have that. (:

        Like

      • Thank you Rachael. You are very wise and a vessel for a message I needed to hear today. Blessings to you.

        Like

  2. It’s amazing how long a cat can hold its bladder! I’m glad to hear that Mojo is okay.

    Like

  3. I hope Mojo is okay. Yes, God has better plans for each and everyone of us. Pax tecum. Perpetua.

    Like

Leave a Reply

