iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Judging A Book By Its Cover


Are you a reader? Are you drawn to science fiction, mysteries or biographies? Does poetry take you away from reality into word play and rhyme?

Rather than reading books for leisure in my youth, I perfected my tom-boy skills after school and on the weekends. I never had my nose in a book. However, I find as I grow older, I begin to hunger for the written word; hunger to find a favorite author to sweep me off my feet, keep me awake well after bedtime because I am drawn to their word play, story line and/or humor.

Picture the scene: summer evening, reclining lawn chair covered with a soft blanket, cool breeze in the backyard, and me…reading a book. Although I read slowly, I am on page 95. I turn the page, and what I am reading does not make sense. How could this thought/idea change so quickly? After flipping back and forth, I realize the book goes from page 95 to page 145! Whoa! Upon further investigation, this book is missing chapters 8-11 yet repeats chapters 12, 13, and 14. I may be making a judgement call, but it seems as if the pages were dropped before binding, scooped up from the floor and bound as if no one would ever notice.

You cannot judge a book by its cover. From the book I started to read, the cover did not indicate there was missing information inside. You cannot judge a person either by simply observing them.

When we take time to get to know others, and trust is built into the relationship, we may find them to be like that book with missing chapters and situations that repeat. I will be the first to admit I have missing chapters in my life and situations that repeat. Call the publisher and ask for a new book, but where do we go for missing chapters in our lives?

God is the author, editor, and publisher of our lives. We can go to Him with anything that we feel is missing. We can go to Him when situations repeat. We can go to Him when we feel like we are disassembled and slightly askew.

I’ve called on God when my chapter on motherhood was missing and He told me that His grace is sufficient. A woman with breast cancer approached God to say that her body is missing something and He said that His grace is sufficient. The widow/widower approached God with a void in their lives and He said his grace is sufficient.

Approach God with your missing chapters, repeating situations, or times when you feel slightly askew. Reply to this post and let me know how God responds.

2 Corinthians 12:9(NIV)
But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

