iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

There is No “I” In Team


Daily Prompt: The Next Big Thing
What will the next must-have technological innovation be? Jetpcks? Hoverboards? Wind-powered calculators?

Steve Jobs did not make billions of dollars introducing products to the world. No, he capitalized on the human conditions of introversion and narcissism.

Hit “Like” if you find yourself spending hours in front of a computer screen whether it is a desktop, laptop or even a handheld device. (You are looking for the “Like” button because you want your voice to be heard, aren’t you?) I am not talking about the 8 hour routine which most of us call work, I am talking about our free time; our leisure time, otherwise known as, down time.

We cocoon ourselves on a couch, in a favorite chair or on our bed. We have a glow about us, but it is not because we just worked out, it is the glow from the device in front of us as we sit listening to iTunes, iHeartRadio or iFart. We suddenly feel a new pain in our body so we App on over to iTriage in an attempt to early diagnosis before visiting the doctor.

I am not pointing (or pulling) fingers. I am just as guilty as the rest of the world absorbed in the “i” generation of devices and Apps. I dread the day when there is an “i” in Team; the day we realize we do not need anyone else but ourselves.

We easily peruse the lives and recent comments of our family and friends on FaceBook, but I think the best form of communication is face-to-face, one-on-one or a small group setting. I love to see a smile and hear a laugh rather than read “LOL” or “ROFL”. I miss that deep laughter-induced-stomach-pain where you cannot breathe because everyone is laughing at the same funny thing that just happened or was said. The kind of pain that causes one to leave the room to compose themselves, wipe the tears of laughter from the eyes and sweat off the brow before re-entry amongst friends. I want to hear the tone of sarcasm, the heart behind a condolence and see the smile within a hello.

Personal devices have their place and time; however, do no let the master-mind of Steve Jobs and his predecessors get the best of you. We were made to be with others, serve others and love others. There is a form of personal wealth in keeping the “i” out of Team. Who wants to cash in this wealth and go with me for some “i”ce-cream?

Genesis 28:3 (NIV)
May God Almighty bless you and make you fruitful and increase your numbers until you become a community of peoples.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “There is No “I” In Team

  1. i will!~!
    sharing many of those same thoughts Kris. (((hugs))) are just not the same via the internet or the phone. Bless you

    Like

  2. I “like” I team ?;)

    Like

Leave a Reply

