iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

You’re Not Heavy, You’re My Cat


Daily Prompt: Feed Your Senses

Write down the first sight, sound, smell, and sensation you experienced on waking up today. Pick the one you’re most drawn to, and write.

First sensation: Cat walking on me
First sight: Cell phone time
First sound: The thud of a cat jumping from bed to floor
First smell: Nothing in particular

I am a morning person. I love waking up in spring and summer before the first tweet of a bird outside my bedroom window; I am competitive like that.

The first sensation for me in the morning is that of a cat walking all over me. My cats do not understand just how heavy they feel even if they only weigh about eight pounds. Their every step feels like a five pound weight attached to each paw, but when they settle down and get comfortable on me and tuck in their paws, they feel rather weightless. How does that happen?

Do cats wake up hungry or do they wake up to the routine of being fed?

On week days, I set my alarm for 5:15 AM and I sleep in until 6:30 AM on the weekends. Somehow the cats know what day and time it is because they take turns walking on me and waking me just minutes before the alarm is to go off. Now, as much as the cats sleep in the day, I wish they understood that I like to sleep too.

As I climb out of bed and trudge into the kitchen, one cat will jump off the bed, two cats come out from under the bed and the fourth cat appears out of nowhere to fall in line and follow me, their leader. My husband has mentioned that he loves watching this ritual; and even though I am tired, it is really cute.

Whether the cats are hungry or they simply have me trained to feed them minutes before my alarm; I am a morning person.

Genesis 1:5 (NIV)

God called the light “day,” and the darkness he called “night.” And there was evening, and there was morning—the first day.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “You’re Not Heavy, You’re My Cat

  1. Yes – who is really trained here? My cats do the same.

    Like

  2. I love this Verse. And as for the cat, they do the same thing to me. But you have four, me only two. Thank goodness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

