iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Fifteen to Life


Everything living has an expiration date. The leaf on a tree waves with the wind and is shelter for birds and squirrels for about six months. Before turning into veal, the calf lives approximately six weeks. Eggs can be transformed into a meal within minutes of being laid. The lifespan of any dog or cat that gets dropped off at a Humane Society could have an early expiration date especially if they are older, have special needs, or the facility is at full capacity.

Growing up, I was taught that cats were sneaky and a nuisance as they cut through our backyard on their daily surveillance of the neighborhood. To my surprise when I met my husband, his entourage had been two cats, Jaguar and Pixel. I shook off what I was programmed to know about, and expect from, a cat and was open to let the three of them teach me about cats.

I learned quickly from Jaguar and Pixel that cats are alright. I did not find them to be sneaky or a nuisance. In fact, my blood pressure went down the minute they cuddled with me and purred with contentment.

Within weeks, we were at the local Humane Society and I was filling out an application form to adopt a cat. Once approved, I found the cutest little Tortoise colored kitten and asked to see her. She was caged with a big black cat and a grey cat; we assumed this was from the same household. My (now) husband had asked to see the black cat.

As we were in a little room getting to know each other, the kitten ran and hid behind some furniture. A worker had to move the furniture and we had to fish her out all while the black cat was standing tall investigating a caged bird in the same room.

I fell in love with the kitten. Planning to call my new cat Alli, I found out her previous owners already had named her that, but spelled it differently. Being unable to have children of my own, I believe God orchestrated this relationship and blessed us with each other.

According to a veterinary guesstimate, Alli had turned fifteen earlier this month and we were blessed to be her parents since she was six months old. She was the sweetest, gentlest lap cat we have ever known. Alli had a rare form of lymphatic cancer which was detected a few weeks ago. The cancer was very aggressive and now our little girl is sitting on Jesus’ lap instead of ours.  Some may comment and say animals have no soul to go to Heaven.  I choose to think that since we have such close relationships with our pets, I cannot believe God would not allow us to meet back up in Heaven.  So Alli, enjoy your new life.

With empty laps and hearts full of love for you and from you, may you rest in peace Alli.

Love Always,

Mom and Dad

Alli Marie, 1998-2013

Alli Marie, 1998-2013

Ecclesiastes 3:1-8
A Time for Everything
There is a time for everything,
and a season for every activity under the heavens:
2 a time to be born and a time to die,
a time to plant and a time to uproot,
3 a time to kill and a time to heal,
a time to tear down and a time to build,
4 a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to dance,
5 a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,
a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing,
6 a time to search and a time to give up,
a time to keep and a time to throw away,
7 a time to tear and a time to mend,
a time to be silent and a time to speak,
8 a time to love and a time to hate,
a time for war and a time for peace.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Fifteen to Life

  1. Alli looks like my neighbors heaven residing cat Freckles. I too didn’t find cats to be the great pet until I got one. If they cuddle (my two do), they are great comforters. hugs to you Kris

    Like

  2. I am so sorry for your loss. She was a beautiful girl. I hope the happy memories you have of her will bring you comfort.

    Like

Leave a Reply

