iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

I Come In Peace


I am currently on a 4-day silent retreat and would like to share this story.

I spent some time listening to a podcast on resting in love. Through the guidance I received, I was able to mentally place myself resting on Jesus’ shoulder and the next thing I knew, I had fallen fast asleep. When I woke, I gathered myself and went out for a walk.

Although I could hear the familiar honking of geese earlier in the day, I was excited to see that no geese were near the pond where I wanted to explore, that is, until I crested a hill. Like a gang of thugs they were loitering in the direction I was headed. I am familiar enough with geese to know they are a protective brood. They seem to have space issues and if you get too close, they let you know.

The geese know and respect the rules of a silent retreat. As I crested the hill, the goose that was on guard-duty, at the time, looked my way and stood up. Without a honk, I knew that goose was telling me to walk in a direction opposite the gang. Unfortunately geese are not good at deciphering what humans try to tell them through body language, but I attempted to say that I come in peace, but the guard kept staring at me. So I did what any brave human would do in such close proximity to a band of geese. I agreed to their terms and altered my direction and casually picked up a walking stick, a.k.a. weapon, just in case a chase ensued.

My intention was to walk around the pond and explore everything in my path. As I manuevered around the geese, I noticed them slipping into the water. Now were they really just going for a swim or had they planned on harrassing me on the other side? Only time would tell, but I kept the walking stick just in case.

Thankfully the geese remained in the center of the pond. We did; however, keep attentive to each other’s every move.

Job 10:12
You gave me life and showed me kindness, and in your providence watched over my spirit.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “I Come In Peace

  1. When I was younger, I was “attacked” by one of those protective geese, so I know EXACTLY what you mean. Man can they pinch with those beaks of theirs! I had an ugly bruise on my upper thigh for weeks! Here’s to your peace and silence! Enjoy!

    Like

  2. Love silent retreats. Enjoy your time Kristine, will be thinking of you x

    Like

Leave a Reply

