iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Skyscraping Screams


Daily Post Prompt: 1984
You are locked in a room with your greatest fear. Describe what’s in the room.

– – – – – – – – –
Remember the old show, “Let’s Make a Deal”? Similar to the end of the show, I have a choice between three doors and I must pick only one. This time, there is no game show dream vacation or brand new car hiding behind the door because what I am choosing is to be locked in a room with one of my biggest fears. Standing behind each door lurked a fear just for me. When I selected door number 3, I swear the fear energy was channeled to it from what crossed its fingers waiting to be chosen behind door number 1 and door number 2.

When door number 3 opened with its creepy old squeaky-door sound, I was soon re-introduced to my fear; we were face-to-face. I had flashbacks of the first time we met at its birth in 1989. All metal, all fear, the Magnum XL-200 roller coaster setting in its allotted space at Sandusky, Ohio’s Cedar Point Amusement Park. I raced the track with my eyes and looked to its tallest peak at 205 feet high, and felt a gripping fear punch me in the stomach knowing that the first drop is 195 feet at 72mph. I looked around the room and noticed everything I needed to survive was placed at the end of the ride. On a wall was posted the ride schedule. Every hour on the hour, I had to ride this metal monster just to be able to eat, sleep and go to the bathroom. The worst part, there was only one car to the whole coaster, so I was always the front passenger.

Before I met the Magnum XL-200, I was okay with roller coasters. But there is just something so scarey to me about the height, the speed and oh, the ticking of the chain carrying the coaster car to the top. I recall almost flying out of my seat the one and only time I rode it in 1989. I was not a willing participant and I wish I could remember what promise I was made to get me to ride that skyscraper.

I no longer ride roller coasters stating that I am getting too old. The Magnum XL-200 encouraged one of my other fears that most likely was lurking behind either door number 1 or door number 2. Once I get over the trembling from this blog, I may share with you that fear. One stressful memory a day is enough for me.

Hebrews 12:21 New International Version (NIV)
The sight was so terrifying that Moses said, “I am trembling with fear.”

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Skyscraping Screams

  1. Pingback: BEHIND MY EYES « hastywords

  2. I have scary memories of the Magnum, too! We took a field trip to Cedar Point when I was in middle school, and I still remember it! YIKES! 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: 1984 « KnowledgeKnut

Leave a Reply

