iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Play Date


Daily Post Prompt: Quote Me
Do you have a favorite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you?

I admire people who can make small talk. They always seem to know the right questions at the right time and they get valuable information out of people. It’s not the kind of conversation about the weather or the latest sports game that I admire; it’s the way the questions are bent in the conversation that opens people up making them willing to share tid-bits of personal data that intrigues me. Small talk is an art. I think I leave a bad first impression because I turn into a chirping cricket in the awkward silence of small talk when it is my turn to ask questions.

However, if you were to meet me during some sort of activity/time of play, I become a different person. I think I need to be engaged to be engaging. I need some obvious activity to bring me together with other people and somehow my mind becomes inquisitive and invigorated and I am willing and able to strike up a conversation. I attribute this to a quote from Plato that I have held onto for years.

“You can discover more about a person in an hour of play than in a year of conversation.”

This quote is true for me, so I assume it is true for others. When there is an activity, or play as Plato calls it, involving people, identities begin to rise up. Some people turn into leaders and some followers. Some are funny, some are serious. Some are competitive and others just like to have fun. That is what I like about activity and play.

For those who have met me while sitting around a table and I seemed really boring, please give me another chance. I want you to know who I really am. If you have one free hour, can you come out and play?

Colossians 4:6 New International Version (NIV)
Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Play Date

  1. I did enjoy our time of just sitting and talking but I do agree – with a game, animation or something like hide n seek – MORE comes more naturally!

    Like

  2. I love this, it’s so true! I think that’s maybe why online friendships form so quickly– because we’re all playing around on here in one way or another. 🙂 I think this was a great pick for the challenge!

    Like

  3. Play, did you say play? game on. Love your quote, both of them especially the full of grace part.

    Like

Leave a Reply

