iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Resolutions vs Goals


The Daily Post Prompt: Have you ever made a New Year’s Resolution that you kept?

I am human and I cannot keep a resolution for the life of me. I have written out many resolutions but have not completed one. Not wanting to feel like a failure every year, I changed my way of thinking a while back and decided to set goals instead. This took the pressure off feeling like a failure. With goals, it seems easier to break them apart into baby steps and they become much more attainable with a sliding deadline.

On one hand, I am weak when it comes to resolutions. Just the word alone makes me feel anxious. On the other hand, I can create check-off boxes next to the goal rather than a measuring system at the end of the year asking myself if I completed a resolution. Resolutions seem personal as well, but with goals, we can invite others to “walk with us” on our journey to meet our goal.

You may be thinking that resolutions and goals are the same thing and wonder why I am even trying to cover up my failure just by changing a word. Well, I am human and cannot keep a resolution for the life of me; however, truth be told, I have checked off many of the goals I had set for myself.

Proverbs 16:9 New International Version (NIV)
In their hearts humans plan their course, but the Lord establishes their steps.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Resolutions vs Goals

  1. Pingback: LAZY RESOLUTIONS « hastywords

  2. Pingback: LAZY RESOLUTIONS « hastywords

  3. I think it is more than the word and can relate to the feelings. Most definitely a favored verse. Blessings to the NEW!

    Like

Leave a Reply

