iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

All I Ever Wanted


Two months before Christmas, it arrived. The section I drooled over filled the last forty pages including the back cover. I assumed every household received one. Many of the pages were dog-eared as a reminder of what to put in the letter to Santa. How many of you remember the JCPenney special edition Christmas catalog from the mid 1970s?

I flipped through the toy section in the back of the catalog hundreds of times and I had a list ready for Santa. I must not have been as good as I thought I was, because I never received the one gift that topped my list for at least 3 years. I wanted a unicycle.

I honestly assessed the progression of my skills. I learned to manuever the tricycle, dropped the training wheels around age 6 and learned to balance on my yellow, banana-seat two-wheel bike. By the 5th grade, I was confident I was ready for the one-wheel wonder.

I figured it would take me time to get the feel for the balance of a single wheel. And I imagined myself rolling around the streets of my neighborhood without a care in the world. I never seemed to get passed this point of the fantasy; however, I think Santa had the foresight. This treasured unicycle would end up rusty, dusty and hanging in the garage rafter next to the yellow, banana-seat two-wheel bike just above the tricycle.

John 3:16 New International Version (NIV)
For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

This post has been submitted based on the Daily Post: Gimme

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

