iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

The Pearl is You


You are reading this blog today because we have an association.  We may be hanging from the same family tree, school mates, work companions, friends from church, or cyber-friends.  Our paths have crossed in life and technology allows my thoughts to seep into your brain for you to do with what you will.  I hope you do not skim through this blog because today is about YOU!

Leave a comment and let me know if any of the following describe you…

Family Tree.

To my dad in Heaven and my mom still with us.  Your love for each other was an inspiration to me.  I did not know the extent of your love for each other until I helped dad dial the phone from his bed at the nursing home to my mom in her hospital bed, as she recovered from major surgery.  I had penned these precious moments in a journal, but have since lost them.  The details do not matter, as I have forever been changed by the experience.  You sacrificed to give us a better life than what you had growing up.  I realize I took your gifts for granted.  The Pearl:  Make hay when the sun shines and always be willing to lend a hand.

To my sisters and brothers (I always say it that way; I am methodical).  The four people I will always look up to.  You have all protected your little sister very well.  We know how to have a good time whenever we are together and I love it that we can agree to disagree and we are close.  Never do I grumble when we have a family party/gathering as I love spending time with you.  Thank you for my awesome nieces and nephews and great nieces and nephews.  The Pearl:  Laughter.

To my loving husband.  You’re stuck with me, ha ha!  That is our watered-down version of the vows we spoke over 12 years ago.  Good times/bad times, sickness/health…we are in it together.  I am often led by my emotions, but you ground me with your logic.  The Pearl:  Living debt-free is the gift that keeps on giving.

To my extended family, I cannot believe the size of our brood.  Go forth and multiply was a command obeyed.  Seriously, how did we all fit in each other’s houses at Christmas and Communion parties?  Love was the secret ingredient in all the meals that were shared.  The Pearl:  Family memories in every generation.

To my in-laws on both sides, I am blessed to have you in my life. I learned how to fix my car and things around my house with your guidance.  I also learned how to be creative and tie-dye t-shirts.  Who knew so many great musical artists could be brought to life on a piece of wood?  When I married my husband, I was blessed with dancers, a number cruncher, artists, architects, graphic artist, a lawyer, Christians, and a little computer geek.  You have all welcomed me with professional/talented open arms.  The Pearl:  Broadened horizons.

School Friends.

I am not who I was.  A bit shy and awkward; perhaps you felt the same?  I admired all A and B students.  You had it all together because most of you were in sports too.  I would have given anything to be more than an average student back then.  However, I incorporated your study skills and used them to earn my college degree just a few short years ago.  The Pearl:  Knowledge.

Work Companions.

To work is to toil and labor.  Do you realize that your smile, nod hello, or wave from down the hall, is an energy boost in morale?  You taught me office etiquette, when to speak up, when to shut up, when to confront and when to back away.  I emulate your work ethic, job skills and knowledge.  You make my job easier.  The Pearl:  Comrades to the end.

Friends from Church.

Worship, fellowship, Bible Studies, potlucks, retreats, prayer chain and fund-raisers.  Readers, greeters, and communion assistants, this parish is full of movers and shakers.  The pictorial directory changes like a revolving door, but God placed in my life people who care, listen, trust and who are filled with the Holy Spirit, especially the Pastor…wow!  We can read the same words, but God gives us a personal perspective so we can share our thoughts and grow with each other.  The Pearl:  Heavenly influences.

Cyber-Friends.

Kindred spirits brought together by God himself.  Traveled down separate roads, but wandered in this time and space together.   We are meant to be here for each other.  I have learned how to lean on the shoulders of friends and in turn have been a support.  The strength never my own, but a gift from God.  Just as you are a true gift from God.  We can laugh and share aspects of our lives and never feel judged.  The Pearl:  Understanding.

One of my longer blogs and you made it to the end.  The Pearl:  You.

Ephesians 1:16 (NLT)

 I have not stopped thanking God for you. I pray for you constantly

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “The Pearl is You

  1. I love pearls. That was my own mother’s birth name.

    I think of you as my “gem” of a friend. Thank YOU!!

    Like

  2. The pearls are everywhere. A beautiful way to share about them Kristine!

    Like

Leave a Reply

