iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Sin of Omission, Part II


This is an update from the blog titled Sin of Omission.

“How about we go for a walk to the grocery store around the corner? I could sure use some candy” I said to my husband on that warm end-of-summer evening.

“Sure, just let me finish up what I am doing and I will go with you” came the words from my husband from another room.

“We need to go quickly, I see the man down the street outside again. I want to meet him, but feel too shy to do it all alone” I replied with impatience.

Mike and Joann have lived in their house for 20 years; we have lived in our house for 10 years and never met. Their dog, Skittles, warmed up to us eventually, but is the type of watchdog that will bark next time we see him.

Mike’s greyish complexion is due to a serious heart condition. So severe, he has been moved up on the heart transplant list. He had a defibrillator installed a while back and currently wears a heart monitor now. On July 4 he was taken to the hospital due to an infection and he had to stay there for well over a month.

The sirens faded as they turned down our street this morning. As I peered out the window, my heart skipped a beat at the sight of a fire truck and an ambulance parked in front of Mike’s house. As the fire truck pulled away leaving Mike in the capable hands of the EMT, I waited in anticipation to see if they were in a hurry to rush him to the hospital. Nobody was running as if time were a factor, but when they eventually drove away, I envisioned the lights of the ambulance turning on as they made their way to the nearest intersection and I could hear the siren scream, “Let us through, we have precious cargo!”

In my helplessness at that moment, I did the only thing that I knew how to do; I prayed for Mike, Joann, Skittles and their family. May Mike be experiencing a minor complication and may we have a few more nice evenings for Mike to breathe in fresh air while watching Skittles protect the house in their front yard. Selfishly, I would like to talk with him again.

If I had two hearts, I would share.

 

Psalm 28:7 (NIV)

The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and he helps me. My heart leaps for joy, and with my song I praise him.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Sin of Omission, Part II

  1. Glad you took that step of faith to see Mike. That is God’s work……….

    Like

  2. Agreeing with you in prayer Kris

    Like

Leave a Reply

