iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

A Time For Everything


Take a drive and look around.  Do you see them?  They are everywhere.

Squirrels.  Busy burying nuts all over town, they tell us that it is time to prepare for a new season.  While driving, I am not one to speed up to hit a squirrel.  I’m the person ahead of you who patiently waits to see what way they are going to zipper across the road.  Oftentimes, I am inside my car cheering them on to go right or left and to decide quickly.  When I feel the squirrel is going to stay on the side they chose, I accelerate and continue on my way.

Squirrels are planning for the next season of their lives.  How often do humans plan for their next season of life?

One particular person I know, and love, prepared for the next season of her life.  My Aunt passed away a week ago not knowing a massive stroke would be the cause of her death.  But she lived her life with evidence that her faith led the way.  She visited and assisted the sick, fed the hungry, helped the poor, drove friends to church and poured out her love on family and friends.  Widowed a few years prior to her passing, she had made her own funeral arrangements.  The funeral home was chosen along with the arrangements for a family plot in the cemetary which contains the remains of many immediate and extended family members.  My 81-year-old Aunt had planned the songs to be played at her funeral Mass in the church she grew up in celebrating the sacraments of Baptism, Confession, Communion, Confirmation, and Marriage.

My Aunt prepared for her reward in Heaven by the way she lived.  Her life was a testimony to her faith in Christ as she loved, served, and cared for others.  Never complaining, but always looking for a new way to serve.  The massive stroke took us all by surprise.  God must have spared her from suffering as she was a kind-hearted women who gave away hugs and kisses freely and frequently.  I love you and miss you.  Rest in peace.

What are you doing to prepare for a new season?

Ecclesiastes 3:1-3 (NIV)

There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens: a time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to uproot, a time to kill and a time to heal, a time to tear down and a time to build

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “A Time For Everything

  1. Peace to you and your family Kristine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

