iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Under Construction


1 Corinthians 6:19-20 (NIV)
Do you not know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies.

The Holy Spirit deserves a nice place to reside inside me, so I put up a sign, “Excuse the Fat Cells, I am Under Construction” and headed to the gym. The treadmill was great for cardio and the weight machines worked on targeted muscle groups, but I wanted a little more. I wanted to tone my core.

After grabbing a free weight, I laid on my back on a bench. I held onto the weight stretching my arms over my head and proceeded to lift my arms so they were stretched out straight in front of me. I then returned my arms to the starting position over my head.  I moved in repetition until I felt, and heard, a “pop” in my right shoulder.

Speed forward 19 months after taking a short round of steroids followed by physical therapy sessions. Neither has brought healing to this valuable joint.  I realize I am too young to live with limited strength and mobility and constant pain.  It is time to take down the sign, “Excuse the Fat Cells, I am Under Construction” and replace it with, “Out of Order” hung from my right shoulder as surgery is scheduled for Wednesday, August 29, 2012.

I am weary at the thought of training my non-dominant left hand/arm to pull the weight of two hands/arms. This will be a time of revelation and appreciation for all that my right hand/arm has done for me all my life.

Even though I have a skilled surgeon, helpful family and friends, prayer partners and an awesome Physical Therapist, my humanness kicks in and I feel anxious.  For the next few weeks, I know I will lose my independence.  However, God has a promise for me in Isaiah 41:13 (NIV),  For I am the Lord your God who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.  My creator, who knows me better than anyone listed above, will be right next to me!  He will gently hold my hand as my arm rests in a sling.

The Holy Spirit, surrounded by fat cells, has hung his own sign: “Home Sweet Home”.  🙂

My next blog will be a solo effort from my left hand.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Under Construction

  1. We pray first for full healing of your body Kristine…if surgery still needed, His hands will guide all those caring for you. That your body would be renewed and rebuilt quickly. That a new sign would adorn you – MADE IN HIS IMAGE. Peace to you sister.

    Like

Leave a Reply

