iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Sin of Omission


It was neighborly of me to smile and wave as I drove by, and in a neighborly way he always smiled and waved back. I moved on with my life as I turned into my driveway while my neighbor continued to sit on his walker, breathing in fresh air and enjoying the evening sun on his face.

My feet could not convince my heart to walk over and introduce ourselves to this neighbor. Even when his dog joined him outside, I could not be lured by its cuteness. This gentle-looking man reminded me too much of my dad. When my dad was able to move about with the help of a cane, he used to sit in the driveway, listening to Polkas or a Detroit Tiger game, absorbing the bone-strengthening sun of the day. I miss my dad; he has been gently guided into Heaven in 2009.

Early morning July 4, 2012, I was closing down my house to go to bed when I noticed a red strobe light panning my window alerting me to the emergency down the street. As I peered out the window I saw my unknown neighbor, sitting up but strapped down on a stretcher, being guided gently into the back of an ambulance.

This is my personal example of a sin of omission. As James 4:17 states:
If anyone, then, knows the good they ought to do and doesn’t do it, it is sin for them.

If I see my neighbor back in his front yard, I am going to make this situation right between my head, feet and heart.

What is your sin of omission? Do you still have an opportunity to make it right?

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Sin of Omission

  1. Kris, have you gone to that man’s house yet?

    Like

  2. Amen. Many sins of omission. I will ask our God to show me, then tell me to “go into” my world to preach/show the gospel with loving kindness.

    Like

  3. Your story resonates with me because I too have been too focused on myself to bother to show a kindness to another. May the Lord forgive us and give us opportunities to make it right.

    Like

Leave a Reply

