iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Exclaim – (v) to cry out, speak, or utter sharply or vehemently


One of my favorite exclamations is, “Oh my word!” It’s better than saying, “Oh my God!” right?

The Bible says in Exodus 20:7 (NIV)

“You shall not misuse the name of the LORD your God, for the LORD will not hold anyone guiltless who misuses his name.

And in John 1:1-5 (NIV) the Word becomes Flesh,

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.  He was with God in the beginning.  Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made.  In him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind.  The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.

I bring up this topic because I woke up with this thought in my head one morning and I feel convicted to change my ways.  The Bible presents a tough case against us when we choose to misuse the name of God and it does an awesome job of explaining to us who the Word is.

Alright, I will change my exclamation to “Hokey Pete!”  Can someone please tell me if I am being disrespectful to Peter?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Exclaim – (v) to cry out, speak, or utter sharply or vehemently

  1. This is one Scripture of many which I have pondered over the years. Just as some people will use the name of Christ as a cuss word, is it taking God’s name in vain to say “Oh My Word!” Or could it be that we are showing astonishment and choosing not to take the Lord’s name in vain?

    I believe it boils down to the intent. By using the expression “Oh My Word!” am I taking God’s name in vain – or the Son’s name in vain? I have pondered it for years – literally!!!

    For me, the intent is to use words to show astonishment without using God, or Christ, or for that matter Holy Spirit. For me, “Oh My Word!” is meant to convey my words of my astonishment, and not to refer to the Holy Son of the Living God, who is referred to as The Word becoming flesh as you quoted above.

    I have not felt the same conviction that you have felt. Am I wrong in this? Or perchance is my use of the expression causing other to sin because they believe it is ultimately a cuss word?

    I don’t truly know. All I do know is that after years of struggling and praying about this very subject, I feel my intent is not to take God’s name in vain. When I do use the expression I don’t feel “I should not have said that!!!”

    That is not to diminish your conviction – only to say I have felt no conviction.

    That said – I almost never use the expression and actually love your idea of Hokey Pete!!! But then again – if “Hokey Pete” is another way to say “Oh My Word!” then back to intent again!!!

    Just a thought.

    Like

  2. Yes, unless Peter was truly hokey!

    Like

Leave a Reply

