iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Contests


Remember rotary telephones?  They looked like this…

This is the same type of telephone that sat on the desk in my family’s dining room in the late 70s to early 80s.  Appropriate for the times, but not appropriate for radio call-in-to-win contests.  The rotary mechanism moved too slowly to be the correct caller.

Enter the touch tone phone, with a redial button.  

What a beautiful piece of telephone ettiquette.  Nary a blink of an eye 7 digits, each with their individual tone, pressed effortlessly and quickly transported the caller to the radio station’s open phone line.  Something special from the “prize closet” had a new owner.

For the past two weeks, the news radio station my husband and I listen to, as we get ready for work, has been promoting Dave Ramsey and his Live Event in which he teaches fiancial peace principles for getting out of debt.  The first week, they gave away $100 each week day to the correct caller with the correct answer to their question.  Last week, the prize money grew to $125 and this week, they are giving away $200.  

I dialed the contest line and heard the busy signal each time I called.  I didn’t even get through to have them tell me I am not the correct caller.  Dissappointment was brushed off like a piece of lint on my sleeve, and I continued on with my day.  

On the drive to work, I switch between two Christian radio stations.  One of my favorites is Moody Radio.  At 8:00am Perry and Scott, the Morning Team, will say a prayer together, play a song and then have a call-in-to-win prize give-away.  I have their number programmed in my cell phone    and I queue it up in anticipation of the invitation to call.  I have a knack for getting through because often times I am one or two of the callers, but not the right one they are looking for.  Oh, except for today!!  I won the 2-pack cd from the prize closet!!  Woo Hoo!!

God blessed me with the prize he felt would benefit me more.  The money would have been spent on something frivolous, but the cds that are currently in the mail are going to be with me for a long time.  I was told that one of the cds contains inspirational testimonies and the other is filled with songs by popular Christian artists.  I cannot wait to hear and share them both.

What I love about Moody Radio is that the winner doesn’t just give their name, address, say thank you and hang up…Perry and Scott interview the winner asking questions regarding faith, or simply what they like about the station.  They play back the interview between songs and news reports in the following half hour. 

We have come a long way in telephones.  From the rotary telephone that would only reach so far from the wall and took too long to dial, to the cell phone that not only helps me win on the radio, but also enables me to call-in-to-win from anywhere. 

1 Corinthians 9:24

Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize?  Run in such a way as to get the prize.

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Contests

  1. How funny to run across your blog the same week I realized my mom and dad still have a rotary dial phone in their bedroom. Great memories!

    Like

  2. congrats! I remember dialing the circle relentlessly for radio give-a-ways….with some success and a sore finger! Enjoy your gifts.

    Like

  3. Amazing how God knows how to “dial into” us! LOVED this analogy, my friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

