iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Do You Have a HOME SWEET HOME?


I cannot believe what I saw in my back yard. Surely the heat of the afternoon sun was getting to me as I had never seen anything like it before. On my picnic table hung a little sign that read, “Home Sweet Home”.  While standing tall and scratching my head in wonder, I realized the builders of the sign were either one or the whole army of wasps that began to swarm. Somehow, I became the intruder at my own picnic table. I did not want my first sting of the year to be today, so I ran.

According to Webster’s Dictionary, a squatter is one that settles on property without right or title or payment of rent. What I had in my back yard were Squatter Wasps.

Squatters occupy any space that is vacant. My picnic table was left vacant for a season allowing Squatter Wasps to enter and multiply. I think the same thing can happen to our hearts, but Squatter Sin becomes the intruder. We may have a dark season in our lives and one little sin creeps in and before we know it, the sin has multiplied and turned into an army of hate, envy, lust, greed, gossip, etc. Whether at the picnic table or the heart at the time of Squatter invasion, the venom of each stinger is poisonous.

But…

I can go to the store and buy a wasp repellant called Raid®, and it will kill the wasps on contact.  Jesus became our Squatter Sin…hate, envy, lust, greed, gossip, etc., and it took three excruciating painful hours to die on a cross even after He was beaten to a pulp by Roman soldiers. 

The wasps that were dead on contact, did not come back to life.  Jesus died, but He came back to life!! 

Before Jesus ascended to Heaven to be with God, our Father, He left the human race a repellant we can use when Squatter Sin returns.  Jesus gave us the gift of the Holy Spirit to live in our hearts to extinguish Squatter Sin before it multiplies.  With the Holy Spirit in the heart, surely a sign is tacked up which reads, “Home Sweet Home“, penned in the blood of Jesus.

Acts 2:38 (NIV)
Peter replied, “Repent and be baptized, every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins. And you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit.
 
John 14:26 (NIV)
But the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.

 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Do You Have a HOME SWEET HOME?

  1. VERY good Kristine! Many words lately of when that evil is removed…if good doesn’t occupy the spot…it will return with even more. …to good things in all the right places!

    Like

  2. Abby Kelly on said:

    This is a beautiful and creative analogy. Thank you. I wonder what sin has crept into my life undetected – and if it comes back every season like those pesky, stinging insects? Pride seems to the hardest for me to avoid. Pride in the form of false humility, criticism, bitterness?
    http://www.predatory-lies.com
    http://www.momswhotri.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

