iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Hello, I Must Be Going


Once we were real-time friends. Through the invention of social media, namely Facebook, we kept in touch through internet surveillance.

If my dad were still alive, he would have celebrated his 85th birthday at the beginning of February. Birthdays are special in my family and my dad always lit up a room with his wit and energy. This year I miss him more than usual.

I spent a teary-eyed day at work on what would have been dad’s birthday. Compassionate friends asked if I was okay. I was honest in my reply and said, “No”, but did not have the energy to explain this answer further.

All day long, I was consumed with the desire to visit the cemetary where my dad was laid to rest. I wanted to bring him a red balloon, write a happy birthday message and release it to the sky where he lives in Heaven now.

By the time it was five o’clock, I had already mapped out the store where I would purchase the balloon, as well as mapped out the shortest route I would take to the cemetary.

As I turned from the self-pay cash register, I was face-to-face with my one-time, real-time, now Facebook surveillance friend. I did not share a quick hello or take time to ask, “How are you?” Instead, I awkwardly said, “I gotta go!” and I turned on my heel and ran out the door.

My unfriendly greeting sealed the coffin on this one-time, real time relationship. I was defriended from Facebook surveillance on what would have been my dad’s 85th birthday. I may never see this one-time real-time friend again, but at least I know I will see my dad in Heaven someday. I can count on the promises of Jesus over any miscommunicated greeting any day.

John 14:3(NIV)
And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

