iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

One of Me


It is March 2012 and the temperature outside feels like early summer.  This unseasonable warmer weather has forced me to bury my sweaters and exhume short-sleeves, cropped pants and sandals from the depths my closet.  In trying on last year’s clothing, I realize middle-age is settling in and some of my favorites do not fit as well as I remember. 

I always wished I looked like Barbie™.  Her long blonde hair always perfect and her wardrobe enhanced her beauty.  Barbie has not been the only image I aspired to imitate, I fell prey to the images in fashion magazines as well.  Oh, what perfect skin, hair, makeup and clothing on the models who are airbrushed to perfection.  

Then it dawned on me.  I am perfect!  I am perfect because I am made in the image of God.  God did not produce thousands of me, molded in plastic.  He made only one of me; I am unique and I am special. 

My figure and hair are exactly what God predetermined.  I think it would be a sin to have my image airbrushed, as that would take away the details that God intended for all to see.  By human judgment, I am not perfect, but that does not matter. What God sees is His perfection. 

March 2012 will go down in the history books as a memorable temperature shift.  This month will go down in my history as the the time my thoughts shifted from a judgmental worldview to the what matters…I am skillfully and uniquely created by my Father who loves me.   

Genesis 1:27 (NIV)

So God created mankind in his own image, in the image of God he created them; male and female he created them.

Isaiah 64:8 (NIV)

Yet you, LORD, are our Father.  We are the clay, you are the potter; we are all the work of your hand.

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “One of Me

  1. What a great perspective! I wish more teenage girls could realize these truths!

    Great post!

    Like

  2. I don’t think I’d want more than one of you as a friend! ONE gift is sufficient!

    Like

  3. VERY true! Here’s to the warmth and His beauty!

    Like

  4. Thank you, Dicky!

    Like

  5. Well said.

    Like

Leave a Reply

