iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

May I Text You?


I was at a gathering last night to honor a dear friend. The house where we met was beautiful and the floor plan was perfect for this event. As we all hovered by the food and drink and turned from one casual conversation to the next, the sound of the conversations grew as the guests made their way through the front door.

I tend to fade away at gatherings like this. I do not mean physically or even mentally. I fade away vocally. I was blessed with a gentle voice that does not command attention. Even though I know of my blessing, I accept invitations to large gatherings as friendship trumps vocal chords, always.

In the attempt to talk, I have to get close to an ear in order to share my side of the conversation. By the next morning, my vocal chords feel like they were abused. I wake up with a vocal chord hangover.

Although my college courses taught me all facets of communication, I think being vocally challenged has helped me to be a good listener. I also have mastered the smiling nod.

Usually people take their weakness and turn it into a strength. If you see me at a large gathering, may I text you?

Proverbs 20:12(NIV)
Ears that hear and eyes that see—
   the LORD has made them both.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “May I Text You?

  1. I don’t text….so I’d rather Skype w/ you!

    Like

  2. ….but my eyes can’t read that small stuff on the phone :0( We all have some strong & weak things don’t we?

    I think I will always prefer the smiling nod vs text. I have used a computer for conversation as we translate.google and it was good to be able to say more but its just not the same.

    Like

Leave a Reply

