iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

In Mysterious Ways


Mystery writers fill us with suspense. The pins and needles type of suspense. Who done it? twisted stories that keep the reader at the edge of their seat. There is an expectation for suspense, sprinkled with elements of fear.

How often have you heard, or said, this phrase? “God works in mysterious ways”. What does that mean to you? 

If your spouse, family or friend did something that seemed out of the ordinary, would you say, “My spouse/family/friend works in mysterious ways”.  Probably not as it sounds silly.  Why then do we insert God in the sentence and make it seem alright?

God, the author of our lives, does not want us living as if we sit on pins and needles.  He wrote love, joy, peace and kindness into our life-script.  Take a look into a few passages from the Bible for examples… 

Jeremiah 31:3 
The LORD appeared to us in the past, saying: “I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with unfailing kindness”.

Psalm 30:11
You turned my wailing into dancing; you removed my sackcloth and clothed me with joy

Psalm 4:8 
In peace I will lie down and sleep, for you alone, LORD, make me dwell in safety.

God, …who loves with an everlasting love, clothes us with joy, draws us with unfailing kindness, and allows us peaceful rest because He is in control…, does nothing “mysterious” in my life.  

Expect a mystery writer to take you down some suspenseful paths, always wondering ‘who done it?’.  As a Christian, I can faithfully point to Jesus on the cross, the one ‘who done it’ so I need not live in fear, and, know the end of the story; eternal life.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

