iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

I Regress


What I desire most in my adult life is what I am asked to become.

Children are an important part of society.  The birth of a child indicates God’s desire for the world to grow.  Why is it that when we are young we wish to be old and when we are old, we wish to be young?    

Babies need constant care.  Toddlers learn to dress and feed themselves, tie their shoes, and go potty.  Pre-teens idolize teens while the teens are in a state of hormonal confusion.  Twenty-somethings think life will never end and their current group of friends will always be near.  Thirty-somethings begin to settle down with career and families.  Forty-somethings experience empty nests and career advancements.  Fifty-somethings feel over the hill.  Sixty-somethings consider retirement.  Seventies, and beyond, begin to experience deteriorating health while seeking assisted living arrangements and less independency.  To sum this up, physically we grow into childlike behaviors, if we live long enough.

Check out what Jesus does and says in Matthew 18 verses 2-4.  

He called a little child to him, and placed the child among them.  And He said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.  Therefore, whoever takes the lowly position of this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.”  

Jesus does not instruct us to stop living as adults physically, He is instructing us spiritually.  Think about the dependency and trust of a child.  How easy it is to scoop up a child in your arms and hold them close while rocking them to sleep.  That is where Jesus wants us.  Whatever physical age we are, we are always God’s children.  He will feed us with His word and give us living water to sustain us.  He wants us to be dependent and trust Him.    

As much as I have desired my own child throughout my adult life, God desires me to be a child to Him.  Ironic.  However, I look forward to putting on my jammies and climbing up on my Father’s lap.  I long to hear the Word and  be rocked gently to sleep in His arms.  

Anyone want to join us?  There is plenty of room on His lap.

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “I Regress

  1. Love this post! Perfect assessment of each life stage! Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Carrie 🙂

    Like

  2. Abby Kelly on said:

    I feel you should know, that you are an excellent mother. If a mother teaches, encourages, loves and leads her children toward the Lord, then, Dear Friend, you are a wonderful mother to so many of us. Thank you for your wisdom.
    http://www.predatory-lies.com

    Like

  3. I was in nursery this morning – makes it so much more potent how the little man I held just laid on my chest not wanting to leave…even for daddy. How much more does our Daddy desire that? You post brought beautiful imagery Kristine.

    Like

  4. Excellent! Meet your two year old brother in Christ. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

