iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

36 Years Ago When I Was 8


Being eight years old is not a milestone year by any means. My oldest sister was 20 and had been out of the house 2 years already and I was sharing a room with my other sister who was 18.

My mom and I had a ritual every Saturday. We’d go to five o’clock Mass and then she’d take me to our local Kmart and Meijer stores, respectively, to shop. I often came home with a toy or something to wear.

Many of the girls in my class were getting their ears pierced and I wanted to do the same. So I did what any kid would do; I begged. My mom did not give in quickly to my begging. I first had to hear the story of how my sisters got their ears pierced by my Uncle Hank when they were a bit older than 8. A piercing from my Uncle required 4 things:
1. Rubbing alcohol
2. An apple
3. A sharp needle
4. A victim

Uncle Hank would rub the victim’s earlobe with rubbing alcohol. He’d wipe down the needle so it was “Sterilized”. He’d set the apple behind the earlobe and jab the lobe with the needle. There you have it, pierced ears along with family fellowship. The highlight of the story was not how cute my sisters looked with bedazzled earlobes, it actually lies in the fact that a cousin picked up the apple and started to eat it.

I wore my mom down and she gave in to my begging. One Saturday evening after church, I found myself in the jewelry department at Meijer sitting on a rather tall chair. A woman placed little marker dots on each earlobe, making sure the placement was as symmetrical as humanly possible. The woman picked up an ear piercing gun and lined it up with the purple marker dot. I felt a fast-piercing-jolt, but I did not cry. However, at the second fast-piercing-jolt on the unsuspecting earlobe, I jumped. From that moment, my earrings would never be as symmetrical as humanly possible.

When all was said and done, and my earlobes were throbbing from the intruding starter earrings, I was allowed to pick out new earrings.

Being eight years old is not a milestone age by any means. My mom spared me from being Uncle Hank’s victim and let me do something at an earlier age than she allowed my sisters. Getting my ears pierced was my very own eight-year-old milestone.

Revelation 1:7
New International Version (NIV)
“Look, he is coming with the clouds,” and “every eye will see him, even those who pierced him”; and all peoples on earth “will mourn because of him.” So shall it be! Amen.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “36 Years Ago When I Was 8

  1. I was pierced like your sisters, too. Only no apple….just ice cubes, a needle and thread.

    Yes, piercing is very painful. Glad you got a reprieve.

    Like

Leave a Reply

