iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Territory


My cat, Mojo, is possessive. He has favorite toys called kick-sticks (introduced to him by his foster mom), he likes to lie in certain spots throughout the house, and he makes sure the world knows I am his mommy. How does this once-feral-turned-house-cat tell the world I am his mommy? It is odd, but true.

Every morning he follows me into the bathroom and watches me disappear behind a curtain. Patiently he waits on the closed toilet seat for my return. Barely towel-dried, he quickly jumps to the sink and stretches his paws out to my shoulder and crawls into my arms. Mojo rubs against and licks my neck, jaw line and cheek. In this ten minute ritual, I have been marked as his territory. My soapy clean human scent has been replaced with whatever feline pheromones announce “she is mine”.

My Father in Heaven is possessive. He created men and women in his image; He supplies the world with resources and beautiful sites. He tells the world that we are his people. How does he do this? Through the water of baptism, we are cleansed of original sin and named as His children. Similar to the daily shower, God’s grace and mercy are new each and every day. The blood shed on the cross shouts out to satan, “This child is mine!”

I am Mojo’s mommy and I am a child of God. I have the best of both worlds.

Genesis 1:26 (NIV)
Then God said, “Let us make mankind in our image, in our likeness, so that they may rule over the fish in the sea and the birds in the sky, over the livestock and all the wild animals, and over all the creatures that move along the ground.”

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Territory

  1. Big smiles from me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

