iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Curb Appeal


Sometimes while I am driving through neighborhoods, I notice homes that could use new doors, new windows, a paint job or new siding.  I often want to rip off the ivy I see growing up beautiful brick homes.

I appreciate neighborhood curb appeal. 

Sometimes while I am amongst a group of people, I notice hair that should be combed, clothes that are out-of-date, and bodies that should be bathed.  I cringe when I hear inappropriate grammar usage.

I appreciate human curb appeal.

 Wait a minute!  What about what is inside?

 The homes that appear to be in shambles may have inhabitants that are ill, elderly or unemployed and they have to pick and choose what is most important on their limited funds.  The people who appear unkempt may be somebody’s V.I.P/hero.  They may be a very loving and doting spouse, parent or child.  They could be ill, elderly or unemployed and they have to pick and choose what is most important on their limited funds. 

I have no right to pass judgment.  I have every right to love my neighbor as much as myself.  That is the important lesson that Jesus stressed before he went to Heaven.

Matthew 7:2 (NLT)

For you will be treated as you treat others.  The standard you use in judging is the standard by which you will be judged.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Curb Appeal

  1. Beautiful!!! You are amazing my friend!

    Like

  2. Kinda like “Don’t judge a book by its cover”.

    All too often, we as women worry too much about our home when visitors come. But in reality, our home, if it is “clothed” in love and welcome and Jesus, we have done the job of our Saviour.

    Like

  3. Nice scripture to accompany the blog. I pray for eyes that see past the outside and into the beautiful soul beyond.

    Like

Leave a Reply

