iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Secret Stash


 

Five-thirty in the morning or in the evening, it doesn’t matter.  My cats know it is time to eat their wet food.  Before Mojo was adopted into the family, it was never a concern to leave a half-finished bowl of food on the floor for the cats to snack on if they had not finished it all in one sitting.  With Mojo, it is a different story.

 

The morning feeding scenario:  My alarm (from across the room) rings and I get out of bed, hit the snooze once and crawl back into bed.  The cats understand that it is not time to wake up yet.  The second time the alarm rings, the cats may stretch and move their position on the bed.  By the third time the alarm rings, I make it my official wakeup call and I head for the kitchen where 16 paws, 8 eyes, and 4 hungry tummies follow me.  As a herd, we make our way to the unopened can of food and food bowls waiting on the counter.  One can of food is evenly divided into 4 servings.  Each cat is given their bowl in an order determined by Mojo. 

 

Mojo’s background is purely street-cat.  In fact, he came from our very own neighborhood.  Being a street-cat, Mojo had to fend for himself and he tends to eat like he may never eat again.  He does not chew his food, he inhales it.  He has been known to push the other cats out of their food bowls and help himself to seconds, thirds and fourths.  This is new behavior to the other three cats.  However, Zoe has a secret stash of nourishment.

 

Zoe is small enough to sit on top of our round, stainless-steel kitchen trash can.  She has indicated to us a while back that she would like her meals there.  She realized that Mojo does not comprehend she dines there and she can leave her food and come back to it at her leisure.  She manages her nourishment without having to be concerned with Mojo and his feeding frenzy. 

 

Do you have a secret stash of nourishment?  I am not talking about hiding food for snacking on when nobody is looking.  I am talking about Biblical nourishment.  Hide the Word of God in your heart for those moments in life when sinful temptations over-shadow you or when satan thinks he can have a feeding frenzy on your soul.  God wants to reside in your heart; it is the closest one-on-one contact He can have with you.     

 

Zoe can be fed from her secret stash any time of day she chooses because she knows where it is hidden. When God’s word is hidden in your heart, you too can be nourished any time of the day you choose. God will always be there.

 

Psalm 119:11

I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.

 

Proverbs 3:3

Let love and faithfulness never leave you; bind them around your neck, write them on the tablet of your heart.

 

Proverbs 4:20-22

My son, pay attention to what I say; turn your ear to my words.  Do not let them out of your sight, keep them within your heart; for they are life to those who find them and health to one’s whole body.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Secret Stash

  1. Oh my….secret stashes can be so much fun! As a business owner, I usually have a secret stash of certain products. You should SEE the customers’ eyes light up!

    Jesus is the light of the world. He’s so good to have around when you need Him…..always!

    Like

Leave a Reply

