iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Preyed Upon / Prayed Upon


Living amongst four cats makes life interesting.  I often watch when one cat stalks an unsuspecting cat while they are in the midst of rolling around the floor playing with a toy or dutifully cleaning themselves.  The stalker walks ever so slowly, being sure not to be noticed.  Each step is orchestrated pace-by-pace with moments of statuesque poise until the opportune moment arises and they are able to pounce and attack their prey. 

I attempt to distract the stalker because I care about the unsuspecting cat enough to protect them.  When the attack happens before I can intervene, I rush to comfort the cat that was preyed upon; assuring them that they are okay and that they need not fear the other cat.  Although this type of activity is in their nature, I prefer a peaceful dwelling.

My cats are not demons, but this activity gives me a visual of how demonic forces prey upon humans.

We go about our lives, enjoying times with family, friends and even alone time.  At each moment, the devil sits waiting in the shadows for his opportunity to prey upon our weaknesses.  Have you felt envious of your friend’s success?  Have you become filled with despair because you lost your job?  Have you started to record a list of wrongs so you can have ammunition to throw at your spouse during the next fight?  Do you invite anger to ride along with you as you drive from point A to point B?  Do you numb emotional pain by over-indulging in alcohol?  Has gossip slipped through your lips?  These circumstances are not all-inclusive, but they are examples of weaknesses that the devil preys upon. 

Jesus restored a demon-possessed man in Mark 5:1-20.  He called out the legion of demons from the man and sent them into a herd of about 2,000 swine grazing nearby.  The swine went crazy and rushed into a nearby lake and drowned.

Angels may run interference numerous times for us every day, but it only takes one small crack in a weakness and the devil slips in and starts to wreak havoc in our lives.  When we cannot control our envy, despair, recorded lists of wrongs, road-rage, addictions, gossiping, or anything else that is a personal weakness, remember that we do not have to lie down and give up.  Call out to Jesus.  He will rush in and comfort, he will assure us that we will be okay because he prefers to live in a peaceful dwelling.

Let me take this time to pray upon you, in the words of Paul to the Ephesians 3:14-19

14 For this reason I kneel before the Father, 15 from whom every family in heaven and on earth derives its name. 16 I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, 17 so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, 18 may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, 19 and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.

In Jesus’s name.  Amen.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Preyed Upon / Prayed Upon

  1. It’s interesting to see this point of view. I can’t say fore sure if I agree or not, but it is something I will think about now.

    Like

  2. Very insightful. God shows us so much of what He is about through His creations. It’s take a willing servant, you, to see it and put it into words.

    Thank you!

    Like

  3. I have to admit it’s a storage analogy :). But! I had a cat that I sware was possessed. I totally understood the end of your post because of you great yet strange visual for us:)

    On a serious note…. I neded those scripture!!!! Thank you!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

