iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

New Life Begins at Kidney


Eight years ago, a family was shedding tears at the loss of a woman in Georgia. I never met her yet I want to know everything about her. Did she hold the titles of sister, wife, mother, aunt, and best friend? What was her occupation? Did she know and follow the Lord? How did she die? Who was with her when she took her last breath?

Eight years ago, my family was shedding tears of joy over a telephone call to my husband, Mark, telling him that they have a kidney match for him from Georgia. He was instructed to be at the hospital early in the morning on January 24 to get prepped and ready for a transplant. That evening was the last time he had to use the peritoneal home dialysis machine. We ran around the house in such excitement, making phone calls to family and friends telling the good news and asking for prayers. Understandably, we did not sleep much that night.

My mom and sister sat with me in the waiting room during the surgery. Mark’s parents and twin brother came from the Bay City, Michigan area as did his sister and brother-in-law who live in town. We all waited patiently.

A doctor came through the operating room doors and told us that once the kidney was attached, it started to pink up and Mark was urinating! Urinating? Really? That hadn’t happened in about 2 years since his kidney failed. As his wife, I was the first one who got to see him when he woke from the anesthesia. He looked so good!

We are born to do the work God has planned for us. When our work is done, He calls us to Heaven to be with Him. This woman in Georgia may have completed her work at a young age; however, her kidney was in perfect shape to be used again.

When Mark first told me about his health history, all I could see were God’s fingerprints all over him. I feel blessed to be his wife because I know that God has great plans for him. Why else would God give him three chances at new life?

I take time, especially on this anniversary, to pray for the family and friends of the woman from Georgia who passed away eight years ago. I thank God often for giving me such a great husband. I pray also to remember that every day is a special gift from God.

Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV)
For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

In college, I took a creative writing class and came up with the following during a writing assignment titled KIDNEY.

Kidney.
Renal failure.
Immediate health care.

Sick at such a young age, he did not once
back down, no, he did not
allow the disease to win: transplant.
Kidney.

Effect.
Renal failure.
Kindhearted cadaver

renewed life in the man I love deeply.
Insist on living, my
sweetheart, I love having you near me.
Be well.

Happy 8th Kidney Anniversary Mark!  I love you!!!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “New Life Begins at Kidney

  1. This is a wonderful story and I love that you attribute the gift to God. My brother gave me a kidney some years ago and I consider it a real blessing. Every year he gets an “anniversary” present in honor of it. I wish you well.

    http://www.jenniepmartin.com/

    Like

  2. What a beautiful tribute to both mark and the donor.
    Mark……life is good……and better with Kristine in it!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

