iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Earthquakes


The more the earth rumbles during an earthquake, the more damage occurs. Buildings fall, sidewalks buckle or separate, dishes and windows break, homes are in ruins, and lives are turned upside down. First responders arrive with medical aid, the American Red Cross assists with shelter needs, and people volunteer their time and talents to help with miscellaneous needs.

My family and friends are experiencing personal earthquakes and after-shocks. I do not have medical training to aid the sick and I am not a volunteer with the American Red Cross. What I do have to offer are promises from the Bible.

For those who give their time and talents:
Honor your father and mother,
and love your neighbor as yourself.

Matthew 19:19

It is a sin to despise one’s neighbor,
but blessed is the one who is kind to the needy.
Proverbs 14:21

For those experiencing cancer and treatments or failing health:
Woe to me because of my injury!
My wound is incurable!
Yet I said to myself,
“This is my sickness, and I must endure it.”
Jeremiah 10:19

Jesus went throughout Galilee, teaching in their
synagogues, proclaiming the good news of the kingdom, and
healing every disease and sickness among the people.

Matthew 4:23

For those feeling lonely, scared or broken:
Even though I walk
through the darkest valley,
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
your rod and staff,
they comfort me.

Psalm 23:4

For those who are held in the bondage of sin:
But God demonstrates his own love for us in this:
while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.
Romans 5:8

For families and friends of loved ones who have recently passed away:
My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not
so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a
place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will
come back and take you to be with me that you also may be
where I am.

John 14:2-3

Then young women will dance and be glad,
young men and old as well.
I will turn their mourning into gladness;
I will give them comfort and joy instead of sorrow.
Jeremiah 31:13

For those who are experiencing broken relationships:
Shout for joy, you heavens;
rejoice, you earth;
burst into song, you mountains!
For the Lord comforts his people
and will have compassion on His afflicted ones.

Isaiah 49:13

The more the earth rumbles during an earthquake, the more damage occurs. However, God will send you a first responder if you need medical attention, an American Red Cross worker if you need shelter and His people to assist your miscellaneous needs. God holds you in the palm of His hand and he loves you.

If your particular situation is not listed above, feel free to open your Bible and seek out the Lord’s promises. If you do not have a Bible of your own, you can go to http://www.biblegateway.com and look up God’s promises for your life.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Earthquakes

  1. Jan Lazo-Davis on said:

    My Mother just passed away 1/10/2011. The pastor who preached her funeral told us she was reading John 14:1-3 when he last visited her a few weeks prior. She was prepared! It is a blessing to know she was not only ready, but going home. Jan Lazo-Davis

    Like

    • To God be the glory in allowing me to be His vessel writing this blog! It is based on the turbulant lives of those on my prayer list. satan (even though his name starts a sentence, it does not deserve a capital letter) is trying to stir up dissention in the lives of my family, friends and acquaintances. God gave me each of these verses to remind the reader to know He is still with them through their struggle. I love it that God sent me to the verse that brought comfort to your mom weeks before her journey home. Thank you, Jan, for sharing your story.

      Like

Leave a Reply

