iBelieve

Jesus said to her, " I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?" She said to him, "Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world." John 11:25-28

Gift-Giving 101


I went Christmas shopping Friday night. I did not listen to the ads on television or radio and I was not compelled by a coupon; I went on my own free-will and a list.

My list contained the name of my great-nephew. “Maybe I could get him something cool to wear” I thought. Nothing seemed to appeal to me as I passed by the shirts, jeans, underwear, socks…until I found myself in the pajama section. My mind’s eye raced me back to my youth on Christmas Eve…finding a new pair of pajamas under the tree. In my family, pajamas were the number one gift to receive. I loved new footy-pajamas as they kept me snuggly warm. The real treat was being able to twirl around in a nightgown and matching robe that my mother stayed up late at night sewing for me. There is just something about a new pair of pajamas. Snapping back into reality, I remember that my sister usually buys her grandson (my great-nephew) pajamas for Christmas. She has similar memories of receiving a new pair of pajamas for Christmas and feels strongly to continue the family tradition.

As I stood there, my mind’s eye raced me back to my painful memory; the last 18 years. Oh, how I wish I could buy pajamas, or stay up late at night sewing pajamas, for my own children. My eyes welled up as I joined reality and walked out of that particular store.

Gift-giving has special meaning for me because of my childlessness. It allows me to let others know I am thinking about them and cherish our relationship.

Can you imagine God’s list that first Christmas? He did not listen to ads on a television or the radio and he was not compelled by a coupon. He was compelled by eliminating death in the world and replacing it with eternal life. God is the ultimate gift-giver. We all can have great Christmas memories by accepting God’s only son, Jesus Christ, as our Lord and Savior, who was born man and died freely for our sins. We will be able to thank Him in person for this gift since He is preparing a place for us in eternity.

John 3:16 (NIV, ©2010)
16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Gift-Giving 101

  1. You have so much to give……it need not be a ‘thing’. What the world needs now is LOVE sweet LOVE!

    Like

  2. Beautiful.
    It was a loving gift He gave, but don’t you imagine it was heart-wrenching as well–knowing that little baby was there to face the lonely cross?
    What a Father!

    Like

Leave a Reply

